2018 LL League XC Honors

October 30, 2018

What a great year of LL League cross-country! The athlete’s battled tough conditions all season long, from extreme heat in week one to rain, some more rain, and then…yep, more rain! To be honest, I’m not sure anyone really had a great opportunity to run a fast time this year. The traditionally fast Carlisle Invitational saw its course become flooded – a river literally flowed through it – 3xs!!! The league meet was held on a day that was 50 degrees cooler than week one of the regular season and the course was soft after absorbing rain throughout the week.

One of the 3 river crossings at the Carlisle Invite

At the end of the season, Warwick/Cedar Crest/Manheim Township boys had tight battles at leagues with Warwick winning the league title. A week and a half later, Cedar Crest and Warwick would battle to a 1-2 finish at the District III Championships with the Falcons earning the victory and District Championship. On the girl’s side, Manheim Township won their 4th team title in a row, edging out Elizabethtown and Warwick. This was the year to catch Township as only 2 of their top 7 from last year’s state runner-up team returned. Next year they return their top 5 and 7 of their top 8. Donegal won the section 2 title and also earned a berth to the PIAA AA State Championships. Donegal also returns their top 5 and 7 of their top 8 from this year’s squad.

Team’s of the Year: Cedar Crest (boys) and Manheim Township (girls)

Cedar Crest – PIAA District III Champions! Photo from @phuggsports (Pat Huggins)
Manheim Township – LL League Champions! Photo from @MT_eXCellence

Looking at individual results for boys, upperclassman paved the way with 14 seniors placing in the top 20 at the league meet. The only underclassmen in the top 20 were sophomores Graham Thomas (Penn Manor) and Tommy Bildheiser (Cedar Crest) and freshman Luke Hinegardner (Cedar Crest). Nate Grucelski (Conestoga Valley) won the individual title at leagues, followed by Manheim Township’s Evan Dorenkamp. Dorenkamp followed up his league runner-up performance with a district title at Big Spring 11 days later. For the girls, the Elizabethtown trio of Katie Locker (jr), Cat Shontz (sr), and Madeline Quinn (soph), and Cedar Crest sophomore Gwyneth Young paced everyone all season. Locker would win her first XC league title. Young would have the best day at District’s, finishing runner-up to Dallastown’s Emily Schuler.

For season end individual honors, we calculated regular season average 5k times and then factored in performance at leagues and districts.

Season end honors

Runner of the year (boys) – Evan Dorenkamp, sr Manheim Township

Evan Dorenkamp (left) with teammate Ian Miller, photo from @MT_eXCellence

Runner of the year (girls) – Gwyneth Young, soph Cedar Crest

Gwyneth Young, photo from @ginabean72

Rookie of the year (boys) – Luke Hinegardner, fr Cedar Crest

Rookie of the year (girls) – Olivia Sunderland, fr Manheim Central

Coach of the year (boys) – Brandon Risser, Cedar Crest

Runner-up – Matt Bomberger, Warwick – Very close call between Risser and Warwick’s Bomberger. Bomberger’s squad won the Section 1 and League Championship titles. Risser gets the nod based on where Cedar Crest started the year and where they ended it. The development of Crest’s freshmen and sophomores also tipped the balance to Risser.

Coach of the year (girls) – Kevin Stover, Manheim Township

Runner-up – Matthew Werner, Donegal

Boys 1st Team All-League

Evan Dorenkamp, sr Manheim Township

Ian Miller, sr Manheim Townhsip

Noah Martin, sr Warwick

Andrew Foster, sr Ephrata

Logan Horst, sr Lancaster Mennonite

Connor Shields, sr Warwick

Nathan Grucelski, sr Conestoga Valley

Boys 2nd Team All-League

Gage Krall, jr Northern Lebanon

Evan Kreider, sr Cocalico

Tommy Bildheiser, soph Cedar Crest

Luke Hinegardner, fr Cedar Crest

Graham Thomas, soph Penn Manor

Mitchell Gray, jr ELCO

Justin Rittenhouse, sr Hempfield

Boys All Freshman Team

Luke Hinegardner, Cedar Crest

Ben McElroy, Cedar Crest

Emmanuel Gitonga, Conestoga Valley

Tyler Stevens, Manheim Township

Nathan Johnson, Elizabethtown

Dale Winand, Hempfield

Caleb Hershey, Lebanon

Girls 1st Team All-League

Gwyneth Young, soph Cedar Crest

Katie Locker, jr Elizabethtown

Cat Shontz, sr Elizabethtown

Madeline Quinn, soph Elizabethtown

Mary Campbell, jr Ephrata

Alyssa Fedorshak, soph Ephrata

Arielle Breuninger, soph J.P. McCaskey

Girls 2nd Team All-League

Chloe Kline, soph Manheim Township

Anabelle Lapp, jr Manheim Township

Anna Martin, soph Warwick

Lily Brubaker, sr ELCO

Rachel Fernald, soph Donegal

Alexandra Slingluff, sr Conestoga Valley

Olivia Sunderland, fr Manheim Central

Girls All Freshman Team

Olivia Sunderland, Manheim Central

Braeten Peters, Annville-Cleona

Hadley Shoaf, Donegal

Delaney Minder, Hempfield

Paige Harrington, Hempfield

Kylynn Frankford, Conestoga Valley

Paige Laurence, Manheim Township

(Coming soon: Season end summaries and a look ahead to 2019 for all Lancaster/Lebanon League teams)