2020 LL League XC Championship Preview – Girls

Note – the LL League will be live-streaming the XC championships at this link – https://www.acschools.org/Page/5468

I will also be on-site providing updates throughout the race. Follow along @centralparunner on twitter. After the race, I will be posting a race video on our YouTube channel found here – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-r2VdoL4j1D6L_yQfdZpbA?view_as=subscriber

(You can watch the 2019 LL League Championship Videos here – Boys / Girls)

2020 LL League Regular Season Champions

Section 1 – JP McCaskey

Section 2 – Donegal

Regular Season Review

JP McCaskey and Donegal rolled through the regular season to claim their respective section titles. Braetan Peters (jr, Annville-Cleona) went undefeated in Section 2 competition. She was the only undefeated runner this season. Myra Naqvi’s (sr, Donegal) lone defeat this season came against Peters. Madeline Quinn (sr, Elizabethtown) and Arielle Breuninger (sr, JP McCaskey) were the two lowest point scorers in Section 1. Breuninger defeated Quinn at Manheim Township in each runner’s season opener. Both broke Katie Locker’s Course Record time from 2018. Since that race, Quinn has been undefeated. Alyssa Fedorshak (sr, Ephrata) may be running as well or better than anyone right now. She has won her last 3 races defeating Breuninger, Cedar Crest’s Gwyneth Young (sr) and freshmen Ava Shirk (fr, Manheim Township) and Ella Wolfe (Hempfield) along the way.

Speaking of freshmen, 5 freshmen currently sit inside our top 12 rankings in the LL League. Joining Shirk and Wolfe as top freshmen include Ella Hartel (Warwick) and JP McCaskey’s Isabella Shertzer and Gabby Thiry. The top freshman in section 2 this season was Octorara’s Jessica Ferrara.

Look for the individual league championship to come down to a race between Madeline Quinn, Arielle Breuninger, Alyssa Fedorshak, and Braetan Peters. JP McCaskey, Manheim Township, and Warwick figure to battle for the team title.

League Meet Projections

Here are our projections for who qualifies into districts from the LL League this season:

Class AAA Teams (2)

While JP McCaskey and Donegal ran through their regular seasons undefeated, claiming the league championship title wont be as easy. McCaskey has the best top end talent amongst any team in the league, but aren’t as deep as some of their closest competitors. They could place 4 runners inside the top 12 and still not win unless their number 5 runner places inside the top 50. With the leagues depth this is not a guarantee. Look for Manheim Township and Warwick to both challenge for the overall championship. Only 2 of these 3 teams will advance to districts this season. In our first attempt to project the team title, we came up with the following results:

1. Warwick – 81, 2. Manheim Township – 85*, 3. JP McCaskey – 85*

* Township wins the tie-breaker

So in essence, this is a toss-up.

Take a look at each team’s top performers and you decide on your own who you think takes home the title:

Our picks – JP McCaskey and Manheim Township earn the 2 team qualifying spots for districts, with McCaskey just edging out the Blue Streaks for the team title.

Class AAA Individuals (top 10 individuals not on a qualifying team advance)

Madeline Quinn, sr Elizabethtown

Alyssa Fedorshak, sr Ephrata

Ella Wolfe, fr Hempfield

Gwyneth Young, sr Cedar Crest

Ella Hartel, fr Warwick

Anna Martin, sr Warwick

Grace Rudder, so Warwick

Myra Naqvi, sr Donegal

Madison Kimmel, so Ephrata

Sierra Kapcsos, jr Elizabethtown

On the Bubble

Sidoney Freeman, fr Warwick

Jordan Dirisio, so Elizabethtown

Lily Williams, sr Hempfield

Hadley Shoaf, jr Donegal

Amanda Fry, sr Donegal

Class AA Teams (2)

Lampeter-Strasburg and Lancaster Catholic appear ready to snag the 2 team qualifying spots for the District 3 class AA Championships. Here is a look at their top performers this season:

Class AA Individuals (top 10 individuals not on a qualifying team advance)

Class A

Annville-Cleona advances to the district championships. All class A teams advance this season. Don’t let the automatic qualifier fool you. This is a team in the hunt for a class A District 3 title. Braetan Peters and Cassi Clemson (so) lead the way for the Little Dutchmen.