2019 BCIAA XC Championships (10/15/19)

Boys Results

Girls Results

Boys Race Highlights

Photo from @SpotlightBerks

Similar faces battled it out again this season for the Berks County title. Ben Kuhn (sr, Wyomissing) and Jonathan Thrush (sr, Muhlenberg) went 1-2 in 2018 and that’s how they would finish again this year. Kuhn ran 12-seconds faster in winning this season running 16:12. Thrush improved his time by 23-seconds running 16:26.

Wyomissing’s Thomas Foster (sr) finished 3rd in 16:38. Kuhn and Foster give Wyomissing 2 legitimate low-stick performers come the District III AA championship meet.

Twin Valley dominated the boys team race and placed 4 guys inside the top 15. They were led on Tuesday by junior Noah Taylor who finished 4th overall in 16:39.

Kutztown senior Mitchell Brett finished 5th in 16:49. He may be the favorite to win the individual District III A title.

Also finishing in the top 10:

6. Griffin Schlegel, sr Twin Valley 16:50

7. Luke Seymour, so Schuylkill Valley 16:51

8. Christian Gagliardi, sr Wilson 16:55

9. Alex Pingitore, sr Daniel Boone 17:04

10. Alfonso Knoll, sr Conrad Weiser 17:09

Girls Race Highlights

Photo from @SpotlightBerks

Wilson’s Caryn Rippey (so) did not run cross country last year as a freshman. She played water polo in 2018. Well, water polo’s loss is cross country’s gain as she would took home the county title running 19:16. Her victory was by 15-seconds which suggests there is more left in her tank. She’ll look to help Wilson earn one of four state qualifying berths at the District III AAA Championships at Big Spring.

Exeter’s Kat Kerchner ran to a runner-up finish, crossing the finish line in 19:31. She led 5 Eagle athletes in placing in the top 20. Wyomissing’s Grace Kuhn (jr) finished 3rd in 19:38. Two other athletes broke the 20-minute barrier on Tuesday. They were Kutztown junior Erika Moriarty who finished 4th in 19:46 and Wilson sophomore Emily Foight who ran 19:56 to finish 5th.

Rounding out the top 10 were:

6. Sabryna Collins, so Governor Mifflin 20:04

7. Ella Kahn, so Wilson 20:20

8. Rachel Ulrich, so Governor Mifflin 20:23

9. Laura Posh, fr Twin Valley 20:29

10. Krystalyn Super, sr Governor Mifflin 20:33

This was the closest team race of the day. Governor Mifflin and Wilson both scored 49 points, but Governor Mifflin won on the tie-break. Governor Mifflin would put both their #6 and #7 runner in front of Wilson’s #6 to earn the win. Exeter finished 3rd with only 67 points. All three have a chance to qualify into states at the District III AAA Championships.